Date Published: 2/28/2012

Dr. Stephen Rawe Honored by Roper St. Francis Foundation

Credited for his leadership and devoted service, Stephen E. Rawe, MD, received the annual RSF Foundation Physician Champion Award.

CHARLESTON, S.C. (Feb. 28, 2012) – Credited for his exceptional leadership and devoted service to patients and the Lowcountry medical community, Stephen E. Rawe, MD, PhD, recently accepted the annual Roper St. Francis (RSF) Foundation Physician Champion Award.


Dr. Rawe was presented with the award at the Roper Xavier (Rx) Society’s Annual Donor Appreciation Gala held Feb. 4. It is presented each year to a physician who exhibits exemplary service to the RSF Foundation. This year the award was sponsored by Cogdell Spencer ERDMAN.


In presenting this year’s Physician Champion Award, Devereaux Gregg, representing Cogdell Spencer ERDMAN, noted that Dr. Rawe is a true advocate and leader for the RSF Foundation and has enabled the Foundation to further the system’s mission. The RSF Foundation, the fundraising arm of the healthcare system, has raised approximately $35 million since 2005. These gifts have allowed our nurses to further their education with donor-provided scholarships, have contributed to the purchase of the newest technology available to treat cancer patients, and have helped us upgrade the facilities used by our medical professionals and visitors.


Dr. Rawe frequently speaks on behalf of the RSF Foundation within the physician community and the throughout the Lowcountry. “This Physician Champion has been a true friend and advocate for the Roper St. Francis Foundation, making him the perfect recipient of this honor,” said Susan Kennan, executive director of the RSF Foundation.


Dr. Rawe is the founder and senior partner of Charleston Neurosurgical Associates and is an active member and a past president of both the South Carolina Association of Neurological Surgeons and the South Carolina Spine Society. He established and was the first chair of the Department of Neurosciences at Roper Hospital and was the physician chair of the NeuroSpine Fundraising Team.